Winners of the 37th Annual REVIEW Music Awards

A Night to Remember

    icon May 01, 2023
    icon 0 Comments

The 37th Annual REVIEW Music Awards returned to Bay City  on Sunday, May 1st, with such explosive  brilliance, sizzle, sparkle, and colorful enthusiasm from nominees, winners, and audience alike that it felt like a musical version of the 4th of July.

58 trophies were handed out to musicians and artists populating the Great Lakes Bay Region in multiple genres ranging from Jazz, Blues, Country, Rock, Hip-Hop, and numerous miscellaneous categories.

With an unprecedented total of 5,540 people nominating musicians and casting their votes, an incredible total of 1,133 musicians & groups from the region were nominated  by the general public, with the top five nominees in each division moving to a final round of voting and the winners honored at this special annual celebration

A total of 387 nominees, supporters, and fans of our Mid-Michigan Music Scene showed up to support this annual celebration that brings the musical community and general public together in to draw greater attention, appreciation, and respect to the remarkable creative talents we are blessed to have populating this region.

Complete coverage on the evening’s festivities, interviews with top honorees, assessments of the evening’s musical performances, and tons of great photos will appear in Review Magazine’s upcoming 37th Annual Music Awards Special Edition, which will hit newsstands and be published online in our May 18th  edition.

37th Annual REVIEW Music Awards Winners


Best Streaming Musical Series • Michigan Music History Podcast

Best Metal Band • Shadow People

Best Musical Fundraising Project • Friday Night Live Summer Series

Best Recording Studio • Musik Maschine

Best Band Website • REDBURN

Best Live Streaming Production • Lightnin' Licks Radio Podcast

Best Radio Station • Delta College Public Radio

Best Live Performance Venue • The Vault

Best Videographer • Amelia Jo

Best New Album or CD Release • Tied:  Winaschnitzel - Extended Stay and Lori & The Darlings Gratitude Side B

Best Live Music Club or Bar • Bemo's Bar

Best Sound Technician • Level 47 Productions

Best Music Video • REDBURN - Hell No

Best Alternative Band • ADABOY!

Best New Artist of the Year • TIED: Pesky Kid and Twenty Dollar Dog

Best New Single Release • REDBURN - Hell No

Best Duo • Melissa May & Brian Coonan

Best Variety Band • Road Dawgz

Most Innovative Artist • Matthew de Heus

Best Original Band • Marsupial Creampie

Best Multi-Instrumentalist • Joe Balbaugh

Best Solo Artist • Joe Balbaugh

Rock Awards

Best Rock Video - TIED:  REDBURN - Hell No and Lori and the Darlings - "Lucky"

Best Rock Female Vocalist • Melissa May

Best Rock Keyboardist • Loren Kranz

Best Rock Songwriter • Melissa May

Best Rock Bassist • Joe Balbaugh

Best Rock Drummer • Nathan Seifferly

Best Rock Male Vocalist • William Hystad

Best Rock Band • The Euclid Motel

Best Rock Guitarist • Darrian Loehne

Rap/Hip Hop Awards

Best Rap/Hip Hop Video • Hell No - REDBURN

Best DJ • DJ KIT

Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year • Chris Redburn

Best Rap/Hip Hop Songwriter • Chris Redburn

Best Performer • Andy Hahn

Country Awards

Best Country Video • The Family Tradition Band

Best Country Band • The Family Tradition Band

Best Country Female Vocalist • Laurie Middlebrook

Best Country Songwriter • Matthew de Heus

Best Country Male Vocalist • Michael Richards 

Best Country Instrumentalist • Randy Badour

Jazz Awards

Best Jazz Songwriter • Robert Lee Balderrama

Best Big Band • Voortex Jazz & Blues Band

Best Small Combo • Mike Brush

Best Female Jazz Vocalist • Kalysta

Best Male Jazz Vocalist • Matthew de Heus

Best Jazz Instrumentalist • Robert Lee Balderrama

Blues Awards

Best Blues Video • Lori and the Darlings - "Lucky"

Best Blues Band • The Rhett Yocum Blues Band

Best Funk Band • Marsupial Creampie

Best Female Blues Vocalist • Melissa (Mel) Curry

Best Blues Instrumentalist • Matt Besey

Best Male Blues Vocalist • Andy Hahn

Best Blues Songwriter • Rhett Yocom


Share on:

Comments (0)

icon Login to comment