17-Year Old Alex McCarthy Secures Championship and Makes History at 70th Annual Saginaw District Golf Tournament

Largest Comeback in Tournament History Ends in Two-Hole Playoff Round

    icon Jun 24, 2024
    icon 0 Comments

Despite the ever-constant threat of heavy rain and high winds, the heavens held off on the field of highly competitive amateur golfers competing in the 54-hold three-day 70th Annual Saginaw District Golf Tournament, which was held over the weekend of June 21-22-23 at the long and challenging Fortress golf course in Frankenmuth.

Tournament history was made in the Open Division as 17-year old Alex McCarthy defeated Nick White in a nail-biting sudden-death playoff on the second playoff hole to win his first ever District Championship, which is the first time since 2015 that the tournament had to move into additional rounds to determine the winner.

Alex finished his round with a remarkable birdie on the 18th hole to tie for the lead and then made a par on the second playoff hole for the victory, after both players parred the first playoff hole. McCarthy was trailing by 8 shots with 7 holes left to play to secure the win, which is one of the largest comebacks in the 70-year history of the District.

Alex was also the winner of the 21-Club Title, which recognizes the low-scoring player in the open division 21-years or younger. This Alex’ third straight victory in the 21-Club Division.

For the Legends Division (50-years & older playing from 6200 yards) defending champion Parry Hughes became a back-to-back champion with a win over past champion Dan Hughes and Steve Yockey. All three players held the lead at one point during Sunday’s final round.

As for the Senior Division, golfer Todd Essex secured the Senior Title, which recognizes the low-scoring player in the Open Division 50-yeaers or older. This was Todd’s third straight victory in the Senior Division.

Since its inception back in 1955, the Saginaw District Golf Association's annual District Invitational Tournament was conceived to determine the best amateur golfer in Saginaw County. It evolved and grew over the decades thanks in large part to the vision of former Saginaw News Sports Editor Joe Hart, and the tireless effort and commitment of long-time SDGA Board of Directors Chairman and my late father Fred Martin Jr, who passed away on the 50th anniversary of the tournament back in 2004..

Ron Stelter is the dean of participants, having played in every District Tournament from its inception in 1955 through 2012. In the years from 1956 to 1979, Ron Stelter and Stan Murphy owned the District, accounting for wins in 15 of the 24 Tournaments.

Stan Murphy and Matt Pumford both have 5 Hart Trophies - tied for second on the list of multiple champions. Danny Hughes and Mike Wenglikowski (who came in third this year in the open division) are now tied in the third place all-time list with each player securing 4 victories in the overall history of the tournament, followed by Craig Barber with 3 wins.   Mike Anderson, Tom Doozan, Terry Franz, Mike Humphrey, Nick Pumford and Walt Van Sickle  are all two time winners.

For a complete list of scoring and overall results and to learn more about the Saginaw District Golf Tournament, please visit their website at www.saginawdistrictgolf.com.


Share on:

Comments (0)

icon Login to comment